trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

non sequitur

I found myself devoting a lot of time this morning thinking about Aerosmith's video for "Amazing." You know the one, where Jason London has wild, virtual reality cyber sex with Alicia Silverstone on his computer.

I've always been troubled by the implausibility of it all. I mean, the fastest-performing computer available then was, what, a Pentium 100 running Windows 3.1? And if anybody was even online back then, they were connected to AOL or CompuServe via MAYBE a 14.4 kbps modem. Does anybody remember CompuServe? If there were even any online images at all, they were either shitty renderings done on MS Paint, or at best, scanned photos that were the resolution of coarse sandpaper.

So, we're supposed to believe that in 1994, Jason London was having mind-blowing virtual sex online involving, of all things, a fucking motorcycle when in 2004 I can't even get an mp3 downloaded off my broadband connection in less than 3 or 4 minutes? Even at the tender age of 14, the video pissed me off so much that I would turn off MTV whenever it came on.

And to think most of my friends were just looking at Alicia Silverstone the whole time. Should've known, huh?

This is exactly the sort of thing that occupies my mind under the influence of allergy meds.

11:49 am - 08.24.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie