trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

STRESS!!! NO REST!!!

The time is 11:29 pm. I have been at the office since a little before 8:00 this morning, as our team has been working for two days to send out grant proposals to Washington D.C. by 9:00 tomorrow morning. I have lived off of a diet of sugar cookies, lasagna, and Coke C2 since about noon. Of three proposals due, one is currently about 85% done, another is approaching 70% done, and yet another is hovering somewhere around the 30% completion range. This is where I officially enter the freakout stage.

Because of my hard work and determination - I call it pure unadulterated insanity - I am being compensated 12 hours of overtime and the remainder I work as comp time to take at my leisure. The bosses have officially closed the office this Friday, which means I will have a four-day weekend to recuperate from the Week from Hell.

Have I mentioned that all this work today isn't even for my project? This is all helping other people who are either too busy or didn't care to show up or do any work before this afternoon... I WILL NOT EVEN BENEFIT FROM THIS GRANT MONEY. Whoa. Yet here I am. Now, at 11:33 pm on a Tuesday. And it's entirely possible I will see the sunrise from my office window.

I've already planned my Friday, however. I will wake up at my usual 7:00 am, but not to go to work. No. I will start drinking. Heavily. All day, until I pass out somewhere on the grounds of my apartment complex.

I think my brain is shutting down. This can't happen! There are still easily six hours of work before I can even contemplate rest!

*****UPDATE - 4:33am*****

Still editing proposals, and it was decided a few minutes ago that it's entirely possible that I could be driving to Cincinnati this morning to get the materials on a plane to make this afternoon's deadline in Washington, D.C. Twenty-one and a half hours at the office and counting.......

*****UPDATE - 7:36 am*****

The sun is shining outside, kids are walking to their early classes, and we're still working on these damned proposals. You know what would make the rest of this work day bearable? Vodka.

11:39 pm - 08.31.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie