trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where's my damn \"out cake?\"

Yes, tonight is my big day. My anniversary. Or, more appropriately, my outversary. As The Darling Hag mentioned today, exactly one year ago today was the first time I actually said to another human being in person that I am gay. Well, I didn't actually say "I'm gay," it was more like "umm... yeah... so... umm... I kinda... well... don't... like girls... or something." And then I went home and threw up. I've come a long way since then, for sure.

I would write a long, emotional recollection of the past year but that would serve no purpose other than to get myself all misty-eyed and worked up over what really isn't too big a deal in the grand scheme of things. Instead, I will give my official opinion on the recent homocentric programming that has graced cable television as of late.

Since I have taken on the role to most of my friends as the Token Queer, I was literally flooded with inquiries for my opinion the morning after Queer Eye's premeire. I admit it - I am butt-crazy in love with the show (the first person to correctly guess what movie I just referenced there and sign my guestbook gets a cookie. If I'm out of cookies, you get a "congrats" note in your guestbook). I wholeheartedly believe in the power of Ted's culinary skills (not to mention his inherently adorable nature in general), Jai's finger on the pulse of all things cultural, Thom's keen decorating sense, and Kyan... does he do hair? I'm sorry, I keep forgetting because I am literally rendered incapacitated by the sexiness that fills the room whenever he's on the screen. Seriously, somebody needs to give him to me for my birthday. The things I wouldn't do...

*ahem*

And that brings us to Carson. I tried to like him, I really did. But, there's only so much bitchiness I can take at one sitting, and he serves up the sass like it's going out of style. He is the type of person that I would feel the uncontrollable urge to kick in the balls after a minute of conversation. Carson preaches on and on to the poor, unknowing souls who were volunteered to be made over about their many fashion disasters, yet he looks as if his personal style falls somewhere between the Goodwill store and some tripped out Japanimation character. Not good. But he does have some infinitely quotable one-liners, so all is not lost.

But, aside from Carson's occasional outbursts, the show is great. The straight guys thus far have been really good sports about being attacked by five guys who essentially turn a man's life upside down to create a new look, and if you saw the marriage proposal last night... well, I hope you had your kleenex handy.

So, Queer Eye gets my approval. It's smart, sassy, and the guys are generally doing a great public service.

Boy Meets Boy, however, does not even get a proper critique from me. I consider the hour I spent watching this mindless drivel last night an hour of my life I will never get back. I'm not a fan of the "Relationship Survivor" genre of television anyway, which probably skews my opinion a good bit, but I could hardly keep my attention focused on this program when it was on last night. This show lacks depth, entertainment value, and the responsibility that I think should be assumed when a network is facing the task of showing many viewers what will be their first impression of real gay people. This show seems to be on the road to becoming a bitchy, manipulative, hair-pulling display that I honestly don't want to see.

I'd much rather watch Kyan fix hair. That's my idea of entertainment.

1:09 pm - 07.30.03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie