trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dude, I'm gettin' a Dell

A new day is dawning in my quest to surround myself with up-to-date technology. After seven years of tireless service, my trusty old eMachines eTower computer is finally being put to rest. The machine has been through quite a bit in its time with me: two colleges, three dorm rooms, and three apartments, upwards of 100 papers of various lengths and subjects (all now backed up on several floppy disks), countless Diaryland entries in two diaries, thousands of hours of Internet surfing time, and a few online friendships and relationships kept alive on its instant messenger. And all without anything more than a memory upgrade about two years ago. I dare say that I have one of the few eMachines from their first year in business still in service.

The rest of its useful life will be spent at one of the local elementary schools, where I'm donating it for a colleague's wife's first grade class. Not too shabby for a computer I bought with $600 in student loan residuals my freshman year.

Not that I'm really getting that misty-eyed and nostalgic over the whole situation. I've spent most of the morning checking the mail room downstairs every fifteen minutes or so for delivery of my new computer, which should be arriving any moment now. I'm moving up to a Dell notebook, with roughly ten times the processing power and hard drive capacity as the old eTower, plus wireless connectivity. Oh, to be able to surf the Internet wirelessly in the sunroom! Life is good.

Now, I wonder if the Dell guy from the commercials actually shows up with his witty catch phrase whenever somebody gets a new computer. 'Cause seriously, he could help me hook up my A/C adapter anytime.

Yeah, that wasn't my best effort. Here's hoping my sense of humor and general horniness is more pronounced when typed out at 2.8 GHz. In the sunroom. Wirelessly. Damn.

10:53 am - 09.14.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie