trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

With a prize at the bottom, just like cereal

Somewhere in the halls of Eastern Kentucky University, a group of faculty members decided late last week that it would be a good idea to let me be a graduate student this coming fall. Man, do they even know what they're getting themselves into?

I got my acceptance letter in the mail yesterday, and since then I've been sort of freaking out. I mean, I've wanted to start grad school for about a year now. I spent a lot of time figuring out what I want to be when I grow up and how to go about getting the necessary education. I've fantasized about becoming an "academic," picturing myself in discussion classes making excellent points in debate that make my fellow students (and perhaps even a professor or two) take notice. I picture myself spending late nights writing papers, living off of coffee and adrenaline for days at a time during the mid term. Now that I have a letter on my desk granting me this opportunity, I have so much to take care of and precious little time to do it.

I'm excited, no doubt. Starting at a new school with new people, living in a new town (almost definitely with my semi-new boyfriend - wow!) - it's quickly turning into a whirlwind of planning and anticipation that's likely to either energize or completely overwhelm me in the coming months. Prepare for a bumpy ride, kids.

Could I have pictured all this happening a year ago - hell, even a few months ago? Not a chance. But I sort of knew that if I were to go back to school, it would take a pretty big change in my life to ensure that I'd see it through. If I had started taking a class here and there at UK, still working full time and staying in town, I'd never finish it. Now that I feel like I'm uprooting my life - even though it's just to move 20 miles down the Interstate - to fulfill this goal, I'll be more likely to devote all of my energy to finishing my degree.

The only part that's scaring me is cutting it academically. I was lucky to have breezed through high school, and I largely coasted my way through undergrad with minimal effort. I definitely feel like I've matured tenfold in the last three-plus years since graduating from college (check out my old entries here to be the judge of that) and I'm now at a place in life where I can handle a tougher course load that requires a lot of self motivation. Let's just hope that my first semester of coursework doesn't prove me wrong.

Meh.

By the way, aren't we adorable? The correct answer: HELL yes.

11:21 pm - 04.01.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie