trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It'll take him a minute to load the musket. Tops.

I headed up to Louisville to hang out at Dad's place, grill some burgers, and tell him I'm gay. You know, like people do.

My nerves got the best of me and I didn't say anything to him while I was there. While driving away from his house Saturday evening, I was getting more and more pissed with myself for not doing the deed, thus I stopped at a rest stop on I-65, called him and said: "Hey, Dad. Just wanted to let you know I'm gay and I have a boyfriend."

He didn't really react, and was pretty nonchalant about the whole deal, which I expected. The man only knows two emotions: ambivalence and blind fits of embarrassingly emotional rage. So, ambivalence won out. Thankfully.

He did call me on Sunday, however, and said that he was glad I told him and that he wants to meet Todd. Oh yeah? Great. Actually, not so much.

You see, Dad's got one of his little war re-enactments he does happening a few miles from my apartment in a couple of weeks. Thus, it was decided that I should bring Todd down to meet him there.

Click here to see why this is going to be a humorous occasion. Yep, that's the paternal unit, dressed in his Revolutionary-era garb.

As Meredith so aptly put it at the office this morning: "Let me get this straight - the man's gonna meet his son's gay lover at a war re-enactment where everybody's gonna be carrying high-powered weapons? What could possibly go wrong?"

Exactly.

I paraphrase Julia Sugarbaker when I say that here in the South, we don't ask if you have crazy people in your family; we just ask what side they're on.

5:08 pm - 04.12.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie