trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Movin' on up.

I am always hyper superstitious about discussing an upcoming opportunity before it's definite. But, since I have met with the Powers That Be at my new department to negotiate my salary, handed in my two-week notice to my department chair at my current job, and distributed the "I'm leaving, so get your exam paperwork in to me NOW" memo to the department listserve, I can now safely discuss the new job.

Just to let you know, I'm going to find a good, solid wooden surface to knock on vigorously after typing this out. And then I will procure a rabbit's foot.

My new job is working for an HIV prevention project, which is being headed partly by my current boss (Nepotism much? Nah). I will be the manager of one of six projects headed by the department, which means I will be supervising four or five grad students working on the grant, keeping in contact with about ten high schools that they're working with, observing classes and administering surveys to students. True, it's largely a paperwork job, but it will have to be more fulfilling than my current position. One can only glean so much satisfaction from putting out bureaucratic fires caused by well-meaning but clueless grad students in the course of trying to graduate.

So, in the next two weeks I must re-organize my files to a system that somebody other than I can understand. It's amazing what kind of work is involved in starting anew.

2:25 pm - 09.29.03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie