trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My weekend field trip.

Rather than give the play-by-play of my incredibly socially busy weekend, I will paint a picture of my most humorous moment in recent memory.

In preparation for a pumpkin carving party at J-Dawg's yesterday, Shelley called me while hung over and sleeping to head out to the country to get some pumpkins. P.S., long story short, I had been at a party the night before where I ended up crashing in bed (with two other guys, mind you... I must be a pimp) until about 7:00 in the morning. Then, I went out to do some volunteer work an hour later, which lasted till about noon. I pretty much felt like fried ass.

So, there I was, traveling to the countryside in the same clothes I wore the night before, sunglasses permanently affixed to my face, and still perspiring pure vodka. Sitting in the passenger seat on the way to the pumpkin farm left me moderately queasy and pale-faced by the time we arrived. And my nose was as red as Ted Kennedy's. I was sexy, to say the least.

*Side note: I still can't believe there is a place known as the "Double Stink Hog Farm," and that we actually purchased produce there.*

The mental image that will be forever engraved in my memory occurred shortly after our arrival. Shelley and I, after wandering the grounds and doing some hardcore people-watching, found a wheelbarrow to load our bounty of pumpkins into. This was perhaps the wrong time to let her in on the fact that I have never pushed a wheelbarrow in my life, considering my fragile state. She insisted I give it a try.

Keep in mind, I was once tricked into going "cow tipping." This city boy has ever since been suspicious any time somebody wants me to try something new on a farm.

I picked up the implement by its handles and started pushing it around and had a little too much fun with it. I was positively giddy as I weaved a slalom pattern between the two neat rows of fresh-picked pumpkins for our perusal. I enjoyed this a little too much and couldn't stifle the amused giggles that sprung forth from deep inside me.

I am so easily amused when sleep deprived and dehydrated.

I pushed a wheelbarrow and survived. At one point, however, I came pretty close to running over both a trash can and a small child. I don't think the locals were impressed. And as much fun as I had being butch for about ten minutes, I think I'll keep purchasing my produce where they are intended to be purchased - at my neighborhood Kroger.

9:37 pm - 10.26.03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie