trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Overreacting? Overanalyzing? Yep, that's me.

And the flu came and went all in about a 3-day period. I hit rock bottom on Monday night, when I couldn't even answer the door to greet my hetero lifemate, who came bearing gifts of Gatorade and orange juice. I vaguely remember her letting herself in and pouring me a tall glass of O.J. I owe that girl my life, I swear.

Because if she hadn't gotten in? The cat would have eaten me by morning.

So, life continued as usual yesterday. It's a little odd getting acclimated to solid foods after a three-day liquid diet, but otherwise I'm alright. I even drove up to the 'Ville this morning to do a few classroom observations.

Speaking of my classroom visits, ever since I started this job almost two months ago, I have wondered when my paranoid side would kick in after listening to Sex Ed. classes day in and day out. Let me explain.

I am the most highly suggestible person who ever walked the face of the planet. If I see a pest control commercial on TV, I instinctively pull my feet up off the floor just in case rodents are scurrying about. Late night Wendy's commercials make me crave Frostees at ungodly hours. If I had a credit card in my younger years, I likely would have been persuaded to order a Popeil's Pocket Fisherman from the infomercial.

Which brings me to the classes I observe a few times a week. I estimate that I have heard the same four lessons about a dozen times in the last two months, all designed to basically scare high school freshmen out of having sex. So, of course, on a daily basis I am convinced that I have every STD imaginable.

Nevermind that my entire sexual history includes only three people, two if you discount the ill-fated "two lackluster dates and a bad hand-job" guy over the summer (which I do - I claim temporary insanity for that week and a half). I'm sure a good portion of the high school kids I sit in class with on my observation days had that many sexual encounters last weekend.

Nevertheless, I sit in these classes convinced that I am nothing more than a walking, breathing sexually transmitted disease. My logical brain, of course, tells me that I am being ridiculous. Statistically speaking, the numbers are overwhelmingly in my favor. But all too often, logic has no place in my brain.

For example, who logically needs a Frostee at two in the morning?

So, I'm following the lead of a fellow paranoid pal of mine and I'm getting tested on Monday. Maybe having an actual printed form that says "you're clean, jackass" will do something to subdue my irrationality.

Damn, what ever happened to the days when all I had to obsess over were my grades?

3;29 pm - 12.11.03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie