trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An open letter to U.K.P.P.D.

Dear University of Kentucky Physical Plant Division,

Let me start off by first saying that I am almost always impressed by the work you do. Because of you, the campus is neatly landscaped, heating and air conditioning work 75 percent of the time, office garbage cans are emptied regularly, and sidewalks are kept clear in the winter. It is the latter of these points I take issue with today.

I understand that you want to keep the sidewalks and streets on campus free of ice, I really do. Not only are icy sidewalks a danger to walk on, but they are a liability risk to the University. I get that; nobody wants to answer to the dreaded Board of Trustees. But seriously, how much salt do you have to spread on the pavement to clear away the snow and ice?

This afternoon, while walking from the Med Center to my office on central campus I slipped twice, but not on icy concrete. There was enough salt piled up on the sidewalks that it felt like I was walking on a field of tiny little marbles. From a distance, the sidewalks and streets looked as if they were covered in a layer of snow. This is clearly overkill.

Imagine how embarrassing it is to slip on what is generally considered to be dry concrete. The fact that I fell twice in the course of a 10-minute trip, covering my black wool coat in little salt pellets... well, it was the proverbial salt in the wound.

Please, be judicious in your use of salt this winter, if for no other reason than I don't want to look like an ass while walking down Rose street during the lunch rush.

Your coordinationally-challenged colleague,
Matt

12:41 pm - 01.24.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie