trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tonight's drunken movie review.

I went out, I drank, I listened to live music, and I drank some more. All at a pretty cool place less than 100 feet from my apartment. All in all, I had a great evening.

Shelley and James both recommended that I rent Y Tu Mama Tambien, which I did last night. It was such an interesting story, but it left me quite conflicted when it was all through. I suppose I'm just used to the usual Hollywood sequence of movies that ends in a "happily ever after" resolution to truly appreciate the nuances of this film. This is one of the only movies I've ever seen that seems to leave more loose ends than it starts with. It's certainly not the "feel good movie of the year," but it leaves the viewer with plenty of unanswered questions about both the characters and the nature of friendships, particularly male friendships, to mull over long after watching.

I just read a review online that compared parts of the story to Kate Chopin's The Awakening, one of my favorite stories I've ever read. With that in mind, I have a whole new set of thoughts on the movie. Very interesting.

Perhaps I shouldn't write movie reviews after drinking.

I love three-day weekends.

1:21 am - 08.31.03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie