trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*RING* *BUZZ* Ooohhh!

Who do I have to blow to get a decent ring tone on my phone? Remember when cell phones all had vaguely irritating, yet readily identifiable rings? To look through my list of ringtones now, you'd think I had downloaded the Billboard Top 40: In Da Club by 50 Cent, How Do You Want It by Tupac, Gotta Get Thru This by Daniel Bedingfield, and The Cure's Just Like Heaven are all options to notify me when somebody is trying to get in touch with me. Hell, at the moment Britney serenades me with the chorus to Toxic, so my car is instantly transformed into a glittery teenage girl's bedroom whenever someone calls.

When did it become important that our phones morph into lame-ass mini stereos? It wasn't so bad on my old Nokia with the monophonic ringtones. No matter how cleverly a ringtone composer manipulated the electronic tones, you'd never actually think you were listening to a recording of Losing My Religion. On my current phone, I have on more than one occasion neglected to answer my phone because I thought somebody nearby just turned their car stereo up too loud.

I want more than anything a ringtone that actually sounds like a ring. Something that is so loud and distracting that I am forced to answer just to silence the infernal electronic screeching. I want a ringtone that I can hear while my phone is in my jeans pocket without resorting to using the vibrate function. Is that too much to ask?

Though I must admit, the vibration can be very exciting if the phone drifts far enough to the front in my jeans. But half the time, it's just my mom calling me. And that's a Pavlovian association I really don't care to develop.

9:03 am - 04.28.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie