trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Honest, you should be more carefull\"

Jackson, the Feline From the Dark Netherworld is getting too smart for his own good. I came home on Tuesday to find a terse note from my elderly neighbor explaining how she "rescued my baby" from the hallway earlier that morning, and that I should be more carefull (sic).

Okay, first of all, my cat is not my baby. He's a pet. He's a furry, sharp-clawed creature who is occasionally cute but generally a pain in the ass. I did not bear him from my loins. He was actually a sort of impulse buy. An impulse buy that bites me when I wake up in the morning.

More importantly, if you're going to scold me like I'm a child, at least have the decency to spell correctly.

In the note, my neighbor explained how my door was unlocked when she found Jack wandering the hallway. She was able to flag down our maintenance guy to lock my apartment back up, thus saving my baby from further harm.

Again, her words. Not mine.

I was more than willing to accept responsibility for not locking my door when I left that morning. I'm not always the sharpest tool in the shed, and I readily admit that. I believed I had done my jackass deed of the day, that is, until I heard an odd sound coming from the entry hall a few minutes after I locked the deadbolt.

There was my cat, my bastardly cat, playing some game in which he would jump up and hit the lever on my deadbolt lock. After about six hits, he unlocked it. And, since my doorknob serves no useful purpose other than providing something to grab onto when closing the door, he reached in the space under the door and started pulling it open.

My cat now knows how to let himself out of my locked apartment without my help. I can only imagine he's plotting a way to lock me out now. It's just a matter of time until he hot-wires my car and goes out on a joyride with the other cats on the floor. They're organizing now, I just know it.

Why couldn't I have just waited to get a dog?

3:26 pm - 02.05.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie