trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

...and he's falling... yep, he's gone.

So, I had a disgustingly sweet boyfriend day yesterday that I really have to share. This is a warning for all diabetics or those who get cavities too easily to hit the archives for one of my more cynical entries. This one's three-packets-of-Splenda sweet.

The day was so enjoyable mainly because of how normal it all felt, if that makes any sense. We had no big plans - we both had the day off for MLK Day, so I drove over to Todd's (yep, he has a name now) house after getting an oil change for the car in the morning. He worked the night before, so we took a nap until it was time to wake up and straighten up the house for a meeting he had planned with a few of his classmates from his grad program.

He did the dishes and cleaned up the living room while I went out to the store and picked up some snacks. Everyone arrived around 5:00, and I was introduced to the group. After the meeting started I went back to the spare room to put together the kennel for Todd's new dog, which he gets today.

I spent the next hour checking my e-mail and starting on reading a new book in the study. I could hear Todd taking on the leadership role in the group, using his sense of humor and generally disarming personality to manage the many ideas that were brought up for the group's big presentation in a few weeks.

During a quick break in discussion, everyone convened in the kitchen to load up on Chex Mix and Pepsi, so I wandered in. As soon as I walked in, Todd flashed me the widest grin I've ever seen and planted a quick peck on my right cheek as I walked by him. Right there, in front of everybody.

*insert blushing and unapologetic schoolgirl giggling here*

After they reconvened for one last round of planning, I sat in the big, mission-style chair in the study and just smiled. Because this all felt so right. In preparing for the meeting, going about little daily tasks, I didn't feel like I was with some guy I've been dating for slightly more than a month. This is what I've been looking for all along: permanence, stability, genuine feelings.

Dear lord, I think I'm falling in love. Who saw that one coming?

So, for all those people who told me that I'd find the one I was looking for when I least expected it, you have earned yourselves the right to a hearty "I told you so." I've never been so thankful to have been proven wrong.

12:02 pm - 01.18.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie