trendymatt's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Almost TGIF

Before about a week ago, I had never watched a complete baseball game. Please tell me how I got so involved in the World Series this year that seeing the news this morning that the Red Sox won seriously excited me. Also, tell me how I actually logged onto ESPN.com to check the score no fewer than five times last night. Something is seriously wrong with this picture. I'd better go decorate something to compensate... stat.

I'm heading to Mom's place for an overnight stay tomorrow, which should prove to be an adventure as usual. Mom had the beginning of some huge dental procedure last week that apparently involved removing a few teeth in preparation to have bridge work or something like that done next week. P.S., long story short, Mom's missing a few teeth for the time being. Kentucky stereotypes, anyone?

I've been lucky enough to have beeen assigned to attend a couple of conferences for work lately... the most memorable was a panel discussion on AIDS in South Africa that was in town on Monday night. Man, talk about some powerful stuff. It's really difficult for those of us in the States to realize just how monumentally this disease has stricken the people of South Africa. Hearing stories from people currently living there and working to fight AIDS really made my efforts through my job seem minimal. I'm not saying I think my job is meaningless by any stretch of the imagination, but these people establishing AIDS treatment centers and hospices with little to no government funding and endless lines of infected people seeking whatever help they can get... I just can't think of anything to say that would do justice to what they've taken on.

Check out the Wola Nani website. The director of this program was on the speakers' panel and just a brief introduction to what they're doing at this place impressed me.

Who'd have thought I'd go and turn into such a bleeding-heart tree-huggin' hippie? So much for that tough-guy vibe.

Shut up. I can too play a tough guy. You don't know.

10:47 pm - 10.28.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lyssbobiss
intheory27
evolver
epiphany
hulabelly
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
weetabix
wicked-sezzy
thegay
blonde32810
daizymaizy
critterwil
schoonie